Wissen - Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Contact
Rob Stijlen
Rob Stijlen
Home | Efficient Quality Reporting for Vifor Pharma - a Success Story
October 31, 2017

Efficient Quality Reporting for Vifor Pharma - a Success Story

More efficient. More reliable. More flexible. — The quality reporting of Vifor Pharma reaches new maturity.

Price pressure and tough competition are driving pharmaceutical companies to higher quality and continuous improvement. The quality management department of Vifor Pharma is making its own contribution and prescribed a slimming diet to its own KPI reporting.

 

The Initial Situation

Vifor Pharma, a company of the Galenica group, is one of the world’s leading companies in the field of the research, development, manufacture and marketing of pharmaceutical products for the treatment of iron deficiency.

The quality management (QM) department of Vifor Pharma has a wide-ranging key performance indicator (KPI) system. Quality-related data is regularly collected regarding eight quality departments at seven locations and this data is sent to the global QM. The consolidated KPIs are reported directly to the management of the company.

Due to the rare mix of process, compliance and IT expertise, Vifor Pharma decided to put the planned optimization of the quality reporting process in the experienced hands of the life science consultancy ARCONDIS.

The motivation behind the optimization is summarized by Karin Hochsticher, consultant of the ARCONDIS Group, as follows:

  • “The effort for checking and consolidating the Excel KPI sheets sent via e‑mail was enormous on the part of the global QM. Over a month, this task took more than half of the working time of an employee.
  • The majority of the manual work steps was no longer sufficient for meeting the complexity and quantity structure of reporting: more than 120 key figures per location from fourteen different processes with sometimes site-specific requirements were summarized into one master report and displayed over time. Manual links and too many input sources have led to error proneness.
  • Due to the many non-automated interfaces, the system was rigid and inflexible – changes to the KPIs were only carried out very rarely and with great caution – even if there was a great need for adaptation from the business perspective.”

 

The Method

A proven phase model allowed for the smooth running of the optimization project (see Fig.):

The focus of the analysis phase was on the penetration of the actual processes and technical circumstances. The first optimization potential has been uncovered.

The subsequent solution design encompassed the definition of the requirements as well as their encounter as part of an intelligent implementation. ARCONDIS showed Vifor Pharma different solutions with corresponding business cases and a viable decision for the design was achieved.

The implementation of the solution occurred within the defined time and cost budget. New or modified changes were also integrated in the short term due to an agile solution design.

In the user acceptance test, the users therefore not only learned the new way of data entry, but also were able to familiarize themselves with the extended KPIs.

Success Story Vifor Pharma - Analyzing graphs

 

The embedding of new processes and tools in the organization took place according to best practices from the organizational change management as part of the transition phase.

Even months after the project conclusion, the fast response of the support department in the case of need is ensured by the consultants entrusted with the project.

 

The system follows the process and not the other way around.

The Solution

In addition to project management, ARCONDIS, who is well-versed in the processes of the pharmaceutical industry, is also responsible for process consulting and the technical implementation – so that everything came from a single source.

The main cornerstones of this solution are:

  • Streamlining the reporting process and adjusting the cycle from monthly to quarterly reports
  • Reduction of the process complexity, inter alia by reducing manual work steps and introducing a central data recording platform
  • Optimization of the creation of graphic reports for management in the desired output format (PowerPoint)
  • Increasing efficiency and quality of data input through optimized usability and optical input aids
  • Mechanisms for extended plausibility checking of the transmitted values
Success Story Vifor Pharma - Process Model

 

Compliance is rising. The effort is lowering.

The Result — a Success Story

What counts are the results. Vifor Pharma is benefitting from this in every new reporting cycle:

  • Well-prepared for the next FDA inspection: through the stable reporting with viable KPIs, trends are detected earlier and unwanted developments are immediately countered. The risk of damage to image and non-compliance costs is lowering.
  • The time spent on global quality reporting was reduced by half. The entire process costs are therefore significantly reduced.
  • The improved process supports the qualification procedures optimally and improves efficiency at all locations involved.
  • Vifor Pharma has regained its flexibility in QM reporting. The new solution is flexible and equipped for future requirements.

 

 

“The KPI reporting process was initially very complex and time-consuming. With the help of ARCONDIS, we were able to increase efficiency tremendously and design the report so that we can also use it for the semi-annual quality system management reviews.”

— Head Corporate Quality Management Vifor Pharma

 


 

“An important success factor for the project was the good cooperation between Vifor Pharma and ARCONDIS. Due to the fast response times and support far beyond the go live, we were able to ensure that Vifor Pharma optimally benefits from the use of the new solution.”

— Karin Hochsticher, Consultant ARCONDIS Group

 


Success Story Vifor Pharma - Training Management Reporting

Example Training Management Reporting (fictitious numbers) (Click the image to enlarge)

Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Kontakt
Rob Stijlen
Rob Stijlen
Home | Success Story Vifor Pharma - Effizientes Quality Reporting
31. Oktober 2017

Success Story Vifor Pharma Effizientes Quality Reporting

Effizienter. Zuverlässiger. Flexibler. – Das Quality Reporting der Vifor Pharma erreicht eine neue Reife.

Preisdruck und harter Konkurrenzkampf treiben pharmazeutische Unternehmen an zu höherer Qualität und kontinuierlicher Verbesserung. Das Qualitätsmanagement der Vifor Pharma  trägt seinen Teil bei und verordnete dem eigenen KPI Reporting eine Schlankheitskur.

 

Die Ausgangslage

Vifor Pharma, ein Unternehmen der Galenica Gruppe, ist eine der weltweit führenden Gesellschaften im Bereich Erforschung, Entwicklung, Herstellung und Vermarktung von pharmazeutischen Produkten zur Behandlung von Eisenmangel.

Das Qualitätsmanagement (QM) der Vifor Pharma verfügt über ein breit gefächertes Key Performance Indicator (KPI) System. Regelmässig werden über acht Qualitätsabteilungen an sieben Standorten hinweg qualitätsrelevante Daten erhoben und an das globale QM übermittelt. Die konsolidierten KPIs gehen in direktem Rapport an die Geschäftsführung des Unternehmens.

Wegen dem seltenen Mix aus Prozess-, Compliance- und IT-Expertise entschied sich Vifor Pharma, die geplante Optimierung der Quality-Reporting-Prozesse in die erfahrenen Hände der Life Science Beratung ARCONDIS zu geben.

Die Motivation hinter der Optimierung fasst Karin Hochsticher, Beraterin der ARCONDIS Gruppe, wie folgt zusammen:

  • “Der Aufwand zur Prüfung und Konsolidierung der über E-Mail versandten Excel-KPI-Sheets war auf Seiten der globalen QM enorm. Diese Aufgabe frass über einen Monat hinweg gesehen mehr als die Hälfte der Arbeitszeit einer Mitarbeiterin.
  • Die grösstenteils manuellen Arbeitsschritte, wurden der Komplexität und dem Mengengerüst des Reportings nicht mehr gerecht: mehr als 120 Kennzahlen pro Standort aus vierzehn verschiedenen Prozessen mit teilweise Site-spezifischen Anforderungen, wurden in einem Masterreport zusammengefasst und über zeitliche Verläufe dargestellt. Manuelle Verknüpfungen und zu viele Input-Quellen führten zu Fehleranfälligkeit.
  • Wegen der vielen nicht-automatisierten Schnittstellen war das System starr und inflexibel – Änderungen an den KPIs wurden nur sehr selten und mit grosser Vorsicht durchgeführt – auch wenn aus Business-Sicht ein grösserer Anpassungsbedarf bestand.

 

Die Vorgehensweise

Ein bewährtes Phasenmodell ermöglichte den reibungslosen Ablauf des Optimierungsprojekts (s. Abb.):

Im Fokus der Analysephase stand die Durchdringung der IST-Prozesse und der technischen Gegebenheiten. Erste Optimierungspotentiale wurden aufgedeckt.

Das anschliessende Lösungsdesign umfasste die Definition der Anforderungen, sowie deren Begegnung im Rahmen einer intelligenten Umsetzung. ARCONDIS zeigte Vifor Pharma verschiedene Lösungsvarianten mit entsprechenden Business Cases auf, und eine belastbare Entscheidung für ein Design konnte erreicht werden.

Die Umsetzung der Lösung erfolgte innerhalb des definierten Zeit- und Kostenbudgets. Durch ein agiles Lösungsdesign konnten auch kurzfristig neue oder geänderte Anforderungen integriert werden.

Success Story Vifor Pharma - Analyzing graphs

 

Die Benutzer lernten daher im User Acceptance Test nicht nur die neue Art der Dateneingabe kennen, sondern konnten sich auch mit den erweiterten KPIs vertraut machen.

Die Einbettung der neuen Prozesse und Tools in die Organisation erfolgte nach Best Practices aus dem Organizational Change Management im Rahmen der Transition-Phase.

Auch Monate nach Projektabschluss ist der reaktions-schnelle Support im Bedarfsfall durch die mit dem Projekt betrauten Berater sichergestellt.

 

Das System folgt dem Prozess und nicht umgekehrt.

Die Lösung

Nebst der Projektleitung verantwortete die ARCONDIS, bestens vertraut mit den Abläufen der pharmazeutischen Industrie, auch die Prozessberatung und die technische Umsetzung – somit kam alles aus einer Hand.

Die wesentlichen Eckpunkte dieser Lösung sind hierbei:

  • Verschlankung des Reporting-Prozesses und Anpassung des Zyklus von monatlichen zu quartalsweisen Berichten
  • Reduktion der Prozesskomplexität, u.a. durch Verminderung von manuellen Arbeitsschritten und Einführung einer zentralen Datenerfassungsplattform
  • Optimierung der Erstellung der grafischen Reports für die Geschäftsführung im gewünschten Ausgabeformat (PowerPoint)
  • Steigerung der Effizienz und Qualität der Dateneingabe durch optimierte Usability und optische Eingabehilfen
  • Mechanismen für erweiterten Plausibilitätscheck der übermittelten Werte

 

Success Story Vifor Pharma - Vorgehensmodell

 

Die Compliance steigt. Der Aufwand sinkt.

Das Resultat

Was zählt, sind die Ergebnisse. Vifor Pharma profitiert von diesen in jedem neuen Reportingzyklus:

  • Bestens vorbereitet für die nächste FDA-Inspektion: durch das stabile Reporting mit belastbaren KPI werden Trends früher erkannt und unerwünschte Entwicklungen wird unverzüglich entgegen gewirkt. Das Risiko von Image-Schäden und Non-Compliance-Kosten sinkt.
  • Der Zeitaufwand für das globale Quality Reporting konnte um die Hälfte reduziert werden. Die Gesamtprozess-kosten sinken damit signifikant.
  • Der verbesserte Prozess unterstützt die QV optimal und bewirkt eine Steigerung der Effizienz an allen beteiligten Standorten.
  • Die Vifor Pharma hat Ihre Flexibilität im QM-Reporting wieder gewonnen. Die neue Lösung ist flexibel und gerüstet für zukünftige Anforderungen.

 

 

“Der KPI Reporting Prozess war anfänglich sehr komplex und zeitraubend. Mit Hilfe von ARCONDIS konnten wir die Effizienz enorm steigern und den Report so gestalten, dass wir ihn auch für die halbjährliche Quality System Management Reviews verwenden können.”

— Head Corporate Quality Management bei Vifor Pharma

 


 

“Ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor für das Projekt war die gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen Vifor Pharma und ARCONDIS. Durch schnelle Reaktionszeiten und Support weit über den Go Live hinaus konnten wir sicherstellen, dass Vifor Pharma optimal vom Einsatz der neuen Lösung profitiert.”

— Karin Hochsticher, Consultant bei ARCONDIS Group

 


Success Story Vifor Pharma - Training Management Reporting

Beispiel Training Management Reporting (fiktive Zahlen) (Auf Bild klicken zum Vergrössern)