Wissen - Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Contact
Daniel Flossbach
Daniel Flossbach
Home | EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) has come into force
December 5, 2017

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) has come into force

On November 1, 2017 the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) between the EU and US came into force. It defines the future cooperation between the FDA and EU regulatory authorities and stipulates mutual recognition of audits of pharmaceutical companies. If an EU authority has audited a pharmaceutical company, no further audit by the FDA will take place – and vice versa. Only in exceptional cases will the FDA carry out audits in Europe or the EU in the USA.

 

But the scope of the MRA is limited.

  • It only applies to a subsection of the pharmaceutical industry (see the illustration below). A joint committee is currently discussing the inclusion of further topics.
  • At present, eight EU regulatory authorities have been recognized: Austria, Croatia, France, Italy, Malta, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The FDA will continue performing audits in all other countries of the EU.
  • While the FDA recognizes audit reports, it does not issue the GMP certificates that are customary in the EU.
  • There are no plans for a joint audit report database.

 

What does this mean in concrete terms?

Nothing will change until the FDA recognizes all EU authorities. Only when all EU authorities have been recognized as equal will the changes come into force. These changes will eliminate the duties specified in Article 51 Paragraph 1 of Directive 2001/83/EC and Article 55 Paragraph 1 of Directive 2001/82/EC for the Qualified Person (QP) as per the following provisions:

  • The test was carried out in the USA
  • The batch was produced in the USA
  • The batch certificate confirms Market Authorization Compliance for the EU
  • Batch release by the QP in case of USA products for the EU market

The documents specified above must be available for each individual batch.

 

Mastering new challenges

The uncertainty about the recognition of the remaining EU authorities and, in turn, the implementation of the MRA constitutes one of the greatest challenges at present.

 

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

 

There are many additional unresolved issues, e.g. the questions of which certificates can be issued to companies. Overall, controls of goods imported from the US are likely to intensify, as the changes implemented by the MRA could open up new opportunities for the production of falsified medicines.

Two measures are necessary to prepare for 2019: keeping an eye on new decisions by the joint committee and responding to these decisions rapidly. As a result of the MRA, documents for US batch release might have to be re-evaluated and adapted by the QP. It is important to verify at an early stage whether the changes are covered in the existing production and sales records.

We have around 20 compliance experts, all of whom are thoroughly familiar with the implications of the MRA. They will manage the challenges it raises, from verifying your documents to implementing necessary changes.

 

Contact us!

Rob Stijlen

Rob Stijlen

Sales Manager

Phone: +41 61 717 82 00

Email: rob.stijlen@arcondis.com

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

Graphic: Products that are not covered at present can be included by 2022 if the joint committee decides so.

Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Kontakt
Rob Stijlen
Rob Stijlen
Home | EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) tritt in Kraft
5. Dezember 2017

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) tritt in Kraft

Am 1. November dieses Jahrs trat das Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) zwischen der EU und der USA in Kraft. Es definiert die gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit der FDA mit EU-Aufsichtsbehörden und besagt, dass Audits in Unternehmen der Pharmaindustrie gegenseitig anerkannt werden. Wurde ein Pharmaunternehmen also durch eine Autorität der EU auditiert, ist keine weitere Prüfung der FDA zu erwarten und umgekehrt. Dabei sollen Audits durch die FDA in Europa bzw. durch die EU in den USA die Ausnahme darstellen.

 

Das MRA gilt jedoch nur begrenzt …

  • Das MRA bezieht sich nur auf einen Teilbereich der Pharmaindustrie (siehe Grafik unten). Die Aufnahme weiterer Themen wird in einem Joint Committee diskutiert.
  • Bisher wurden erst acht Zulassungsbehörden der EU anerkannt: Österreich, Kroatien, Frankreich, Italien, Malta, Spanien, Schweden und das Vereinigte Königreich. In allen anderen EU-Ländern wird die FDA weiterhin Audits durchführen.
  • Die FDA erkennt Audit-Reports zwar an, stellt aber keine der in der EU üblichen GMP-Zertifikate aus.
  • Eine gemeinsame Datenbank für Audit-Reports ist nicht geplant.

 

Was bedeutet das in der Praxis?

Bis zur Anerkennung aller EU Autoritäten durch die FDA ändert sich nichts. Erst wenn alle EU-Autoritäten als der FDA ebenbürtig erkannt wurden treten Änderungen in Kraft. Mit diesen Änderungen entfallen die Pflichten aus Artikel 51 Paragraph 1 der Direktive 2001/83/EC und Artikel 55 Paragraph 1 der Direktive 2001/82/EC für die Qualified Person (QP) gemäss den folgenden Bestimmungen:

  • Test wurde in den USA durchgeführt
  • Batch wurde in den USA hergestellt
  • Batch Zertifikat bestätigt die Market Autorisation Compliance für die EU
  • Batch Release durch die QP bei USA Produkten für den EU Raum

Die oben genannten Dokumente müssen für jeden einzelnen Batch zur Verfügung stehen.

 

Neue Herausforderung meistern

Eine der aktuell grössten Herausforderungen liegt in der Unsicherheit um die Anerkennung der ausstehenden EU-Autoritäten und damit dem Zustandekommen des MRA.

 

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

 

Daneben gibt es viele weitere offene Fragen, beispielsweise welche Zertifizierung an Unternehmen herausgegeben werden können. Auch werden insgesamt schärfere, tiefergehende Kontrollen für aus den USA importierte Waren erwartet, da sich durch die Änderungen des MRA neue Möglichkeiten für Arzneimittelfälschungen auftun könnten.

Um bis 2019 optimal vorbereitet zu sein, ist zweierlei wichtig: Neue Entscheide des Joint Committees zu verfolgen – und schnell darauf zu reagieren. Durch das MRA müssen Dokumente für den US-Batch Release durch die QP gegebenenfalls neu bewertet und angepasst werden. Daher muss frühzeitig geprüft werden, ob die Änderungen in den bestehenden Records zur Produktion und für den Verkauf abgedeckt sind.

Unsere rund 20 Compliance-Experten sind bestens mit den Implikationen des MRA vertraut und managen für Sie die damit einhergehende Herausforderung von der Prüfung Ihrer Dokumente bis zur Implementierung notwendiger Änderungen.

 

Treten Sie mit uns in Kontakt!

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) - Rob Stijlen

Rob Stijlen

Business Development Manager

Phone: +41 61 717 82 00

Email: rob.stijlen@arcondis.com

EU-FDA Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

Grafik: Zurzeit nicht abgedeckte Produkte können bei entsprechender Entscheidung des Joint Committees bis 2022 aufgenommen werden.