Wissen - Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Contact
Rob Stijlen
Rob Stijlen
Home | Change and Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation
February 19, 2016

Change and Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation

… is a topic with plenty of potential with respect to Annex 15 that was recently enacted.

The pharmaceutical industry has been speaking about this hot topic for months. But what makes the enactment of the new European guideline, Annex 15, so special?

The new guideline is a paradigm shift where the “Guideline for Industry, Validation: General Principles and Practices,” which has been valid since January 2011, puts forth the same contents — its 3‑stage model, which begins very early in the development of a production process:

  • Stage 1 — Process design: The commercial manufacturing process is defined during this stage based on knowledge gained through development and scale-up activities.
  • Stage 2 — Process qualification: During this stage, the process design is evaluated to determine if the process is capable of reproducible commercial manufacturing.
  • Stage 3 — Continued process verification: Ongoing assurance is gained during routine production that the process remains in a state of control.

However, the guideline for industry continued to allow data generation through an established process validation using three conformance lots, which were sampled, tested and statistically evaluated. This was also accepted without objection by the authorities for submissions and audits, since the conversion from the traditional process validation to CPV (Continuous Process Validation) is tedious.

CPV Product Life Cycle

Graph: Product Life Cycle

To be able to implement the three-stage approach to CPV, the conditions must first be created in the development organization of the company.

Quality by Design is the tool to be able to approach the process design, to further develop the process in a controlled and documented manner and to define the CQAs (Critical Quality Attributes) as well as the CPP (Critical Process Parameters) using PFMEA (Process Failure Mode and Effects Analysis) based on the process knowledge already acquired. The PPQ (Process Performance Qualification), comparable to the traditional process validation, is implemented at the end of the second stage and is meant to substantiate the process suitability and process reproducibility.

Continuous Process Validation, the third stage, means the continuous monitoring of the process and (statistical) evaluation of the generated data, including the data received from stability studies and studies that result from non-conformities and complaints.

 

The biggest advantage of the three-stage approach is the already statistically evaluable data volume for the implementation of the PPQ.

This results in a considerably clearer and more accurate image of the processes, which in turn meets the requirement of the authorities.

In our expert presentation at the symposium “Continuous Process Validation” of ChemAcademy on 29 February 2016, we will deal with this third stage in detail. In addition, we will shed light on the advantages of the improved approach compared to the traditional approach and also discuss the importance of change control management and risk management according to ICH Q9.

Please finde here more information about the symposium of ChemAcademy and our expert presentation on “Change and Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation”.

Wissen - Life Sciences News - Topics - Downloads - Newsletter
Kontakt
Home | Change und Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation
19. Februar 2016

Change und Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation

… ist ein Thema mit viel Potential hinsichtlich des neu in Kraft gesetzten Annex 15.

Die Pharmaindustrie spricht seit Monaten über dieses Hot Topic, aber was macht die Inkraftsetzung der neuen europäischen Guideline, dem Annex 15, so besonders?

Die neue Richtlinie ist einen Paradigmenwechsel, wobei die „Guideline for Industry, Validation: General Principles and Practices“ der seit Januar 2011 gültig, bereits die gleichen Inhalte propagiert – ein 3 Stufen Modell, das sehr früh in der Entwicklung eines Produktionsprozesses beginnt:

  • Stage 1 – Process design: Definition des kommerziellen Herstellungsprozesses, basierend auf den Erkenntnissen und Daten aus Entwicklung und Scale-up-Studien
  • Stage 2 – Process qualification: Evaluierung des Prozess Designs hinsichtlich Prozessfähigkeit und Reproduzierbarkeit
  • Stage 3 – Continued process verification: Kontinuierliche Kontrolle (Monitoring) des Prozesses zur Sicherstellung der Einhaltung der definierten Prozess- und Qualitätsparameter

Die Guideline for Industry erlaubte jedoch auch weiterhin die Datengenerierung durch eine etablierte Prozessvalidierung mittels drei Conformance Lots, welche beprobt, getestet und statistisch ausgewertet wurden. Dies wurde auch von den Behörden bei Einreichungen und Audits anstandslos akzeptiert, da die Umstellung der klassischen Prozessvalidierung auf CPV (Continuous Process Validation) eine langwierige ist.

CPV Product Life Cycle

Grafik: Produkt-LifeCycle

Um den dreistufigen Ansatz bis hin zur CPV umsetzen zu können, müssen erst die Gegebenheiten in den Development Organisation der Unternehmen geschaffen werden.

Quality by Design ist das Werkzeug, um an das Prozess Design heran zugehen, den Prozess kontrolliert und dokumentiert weiterzuentwickeln und die CQAs (Critical Quality Attributes) sowie die CPP (Critical Prozess Parameter) mittels PFMEA (Process Failure Mode and Effects Analysis), basierend auf dem bereits erworbene Prozesswissen, festzulegen.

Die PPQ (Process Performance Qualification), vergleichbar mit der klassischen Prozessvalidierung, wird am Ende der 2. Stufe durchgeführt und soll die Prozessfähigkeit und Prozessreproduzierbarkeit belegen.

Continous Process Validation, die dritte Stufe, bedeutet die kontinuierliche Überwachung des Prozesses und (statistische) Auswertung der generierten Daten, inklusive der erhaltenen Daten aus Stability Studien und Studien, die sich aus Non Conformities und Complaints ergeben.

 

Der grosse Vorteil des dreistufigen Ansatzes ist die bereits statistisch auswertbare Datenmenge bei Durchführung der PPQ.

Dies ergibt ein erheblich klareres und exakteres Bild des Prozesses, das wiederum dem Anspruch der Behörden entgegenkommt.

In unserem Expertenreferat an der Fachtagung „Continuous Process Validation“ der ChemAcademy am 29. Februar 2016 werden wir uns ausführlich mit dieser dritten Stufe beschäftigten. Darüber hinaus werden wir über die Vorteile des verbesserten Ansatzes gegenüber dem traditionellen beleuchten und über die Wichtigkeit von Change Control Management und Risk Management gemäss ICH Q9 sprechen.

Hier finden Sie mehr Informationen zur Fachtagung der ChemAcademy und unserem Expertenreferat zu “Change and Risk Management in Continuous Process Validation“.